Lady Macbeth Beetlewing Gown, Part XIV: Final Photos!

I had a great time wearing this whole ensemble to the Costume College gala this year– it didn’t fit the theme (“The Opulent Streets of Venice”), but it was indisputably the most fabulous of my costumes, so I had to wear it!

We took a bunch of photos all around the hotel, but it was tough to find just the right dramatic background…

But then darkness fell, and the hotel lit up their outdoor fountain with FIRE! I started off just posing near it, even going so far as to step up against the wall (taking care to keep my long sleeves and wig well away from the flames):

But by the end of the night I’d decided to literally take the plunge, stepping into the fountain itself to get some fabulous photos!

The water in the center was actually a lot deeper than I’d expected– about knee-deep– so my dress got pretty soaked! I wrung it out afterwards before going back up to my room to blot it with towels before turning the hair dryer on it so it would dry out enough to completely dry by morning.

I’m kind of kicking myself, though, because I neglected to remember that the Sargent painting portrays Ellen Terry slightly turned away from the viewer, rather than head-on the way I posed in the photos above. I only have a single photo of me in that position, and I wasn’t careful enough with the placement of my arms!

I’m definitely going to have to put on the outfit again to get better full-length photos at some point. I may even, as I mentioned in my belt post, re-do the belt someday to make the links smaller the way they are in real life. But that may have to wait until next year’s Costume College!

9 thoughts on “Lady Macbeth Beetlewing Gown, Part XIV: Final Photos!

  1. Amazing! Just amazing! You did an excellent job…it was exciting following along with your project with all of its ups and downs and how you overcame the challenges…hats (I mean ‘crowns’) off to you! –Erik in NW Ohio

    Like

  2. Pingback: Costume College 2019 | It's All Frosting...

  3. Pingback: Lady Macbeth Beetlewing Gown, Part XV: Final Thoughts | It's All Frosting...

  4. Pingback: In need of Gala inspiration… | It's All Frosting...

  5. I found your blog through Pinterest while looking at the Lady Macbeth dress. I am in the early stages of writing a YA novel in which the protagonist does a cosplay of this dress for a convention (although it unfortunately is set a few years back, so I can’t send her to your blog). I am very excited to read about this!

    Like

Leave a comment