Velvet Witch Hat, Part III: Decorating!

I admit that I didn’t take enough in-progress photos of the decorating process. I should have, since I went through a lot of iterations that I intended to keep track of, but all I’ve got are pictures of the finished hat. Sorry.

I used more of the eggplant dupioni to make a hatband and some decorative puffs of fabric, and then I used clear thread to stitch on an Art Nouveau-ish brass frame finding I’d found on Etsy– I’d have preferred it to be a bit larger, but I couldn’t find anything I liked enough in the right size. I added artificial raspberries in red and dark burgundy, and some purplish flowers (dark purple hyrdrangea blossoms, sewn together to make them fuller-looking) and smoky gray pearls (which you can’t see, but they’re there).

I really liked the finished hat– it’s not exactly understated, but I would call it elegant (for a witch hat, anyway). Can’t wait to wear it this year!

2 thoughts on “Velvet Witch Hat, Part III: Decorating!

  1. Pingback: Spider/Skull Witch Hat | It's All Frosting...

Leave a comment