Regency Sheer Ballgown With Open Robe: Finished!

regency-open-robe-2

Happy Holidays, everyone!

So the outfit is finally finished, and I got to wear it to a Dickens-themed ball! I know, I know, Dickens was really 1840 and later, but since the ball specifically featured Mr. and Mrs. Fezziwig from A Christmas Carol, and since the Fezziwigs were portrayed in the book during a flashback to Ebenezer Scrooge’s youth (presumably in the 1810s or so), I felt comfortable using it as an excuse to wear the dress. So there!

I used the last few pieces of dupatta fabric (literally there are only a few square inches left!) to make a long strip, which I wound around my head with some gold net to make a turban/fillet type hair accessory– I added some fabulous ostrich plumes for a finishing touch!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Regency Sheer Ballgown With Open Robe: Finished!

  1. Pingback: Regency Brocade Gown, Part I: Fabric and Design | It's All Frosting...

  2. Pingback: Regency Brocade Gown, Part III: Bodice and Sleeves | It's All Frosting...

Leave a comment