Fluffy Scones

scones-with-jam

Did you know that heavy cream lasts basically forever in the refrigerator? I know there’s an expiration date on there, but in my experience it almost never actually goes bad– rather, it just thickens up. And if you’re like me and accidentally leave a pint of cream in the back of the fridge for *way* too long, it keeps thickening and basically turns into clotted cream. Really. It does. At least, that’s what I discovered last night when I got out the cream to make Penne with Vodka Sauce and found lush billows of thick, decadent cream instead of my expected liquid.

I promise I’ll do a post on how to make clotted cream intentionally at some point, but for now let’s stick to the story of what I did with the unexpected bounty in my refrigerator. What goes best with clotted cream? Scones, of course.

Now, I have yet to find a scone recipe that I consider perfect. I actually like mine slightly dense and a little flaky, which probably means I need to use more butter (or shortening) than I’m used to, but I haven’t been able to find just the right recipe. Most of them tend towards the light and crumbly, and while that’s not a bad thing, it’s not what I picture when I think about scones.

Anyway, this is a perfectly serviceable recipe for the light, crumbly kind of scones. It makes a full dozen scones, which are golden, nicely buttery, and not too sweet. They come together quickly, too, which makes them a good choice for breakfast.

Fluffy Scones (slightly adapted from King Arthur Flour)

2 3/4 cups flour

1 tbs. baking powder

1/3 cup sugar

3/4 tsp. salt

1/2 cup butter, chilled

2 eggs

1/2 cup half and half (half cream, half milk)

Heavy cream and sugar for topping

1. Combine flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt in a bowl.

2. Cut in butter until it’s in pea-sized pieces.

3. In a separate cup, beat together eggs and half-and-half.

4. Pour liquids over dry ingredients and mix until combined into a slightly sticky dough.

scones-process

5. Turn out onto a floured board and pat into a 3/4″ thick slab.

6. Cut out scones and place onto a baking sheet lined with parchment. Freeze for 30 minutes.

7. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

8. Brush frozen scones with cream and sprinkle with sugar.

9. Bake for about 20-25 minutes, until golden brown on top. Serve warm.

scones-baked

 

 

Leave a Reply

