Belle Epoque Wisteria Gown, Part I: The Design

wisteria-sketch.jpg

The period spanning the late 1890s and early 1900s has always been my favorite when it comes to evening wear. You’ve got the slim waist, slightly fitted hips, and the elegant swoosh to the bottom of the skirt, which all combine for a breathtaking silhouette. Plus, you’ve got gorgeous fabrics and trimming, which can run the gamut from embroidery to lace to faux flowers to beading… the possibilities are endless. Which is why, when I heard about a Victorian-themed dance weekend in my area, I knew I’d have to make something for it.

I browsed through Pinterest looking for inspiration, concluding (as I’d always known I would) that the spectacular gowns by Charles Frederick Worth were what I’d eventually end up mimicking. Just look at the gorgeousness!

4f72509444f97b1d38b7422b9e160bee ea06e9105f65a95de47eeaccd99819af 04a1e4603be7b23ef89a3ece70d85402

After I’d finished drooling, I decided that I’d want to do some kind of embroidered embellishment to go down the front of the entire gown, much like the butterflies you see above. And because I always have to make things difficult for myself, I eschewed the idea of embroidered roses (which I could’ve done using pre-made appliques) and decided on wisteria. I was really inspired by this Japanese fabric:

177525adb617893f485dda80ff5ac7e9

So, the gown will be purple, with trailing wisteria blossoms and leaves, possibly some flowing water lines at the hem. Simple, right? Famous last words…

5 thoughts on “Belle Epoque Wisteria Gown, Part I: The Design

  1. Pingback: Belle Epoque Wisteria Gown, Part VI: Neckline Embellishment | It's All Frosting...

  2. Pingback: Belle Epoque Wisteria Gown, Part VII: Embroidery | It's All Frosting...

  3. Pingback: Belle Epoque Wisteria Gown, Finished! | It's All Frosting...

Leave a Reply

