Easy Raspberry Breakfast Rolls

raspberry-rolls-ingredients

Okay, I admit that this isn’t really a project. It’s too easy to count as a project. But the results are tasty, and I learned something useful, so I’m posting about it anyway.

The other day I got out a can of refrigerated crescent roll dough and the half-can of raspberry pie filling I had left over from my “Raspberry Swiss No-Meringue Buttercream” (wow, that’s a mouthful), and put them together to make some breakfast rolls. Simplest thing ever– just plop a generous spoonful of pie filling onto the dough, roll it up, and bake until golden brown. Top with a drizzle of powdered sugar glaze and voila– something tasty.

raspberry-rolls-process

The reason I think this is worth posting about (other than the fact that it was delicious) is that I wasn’t sure if the pie filling would liquefy in the oven and leak out to form a puddle of burnt sugar on the baking sheet. It was so gooey and jam-like in the can that I wasn’t sure it could keep its shape when baked. However, my fears were for naught, as it stayed mostly in place and was perfectly fine.

raspberry-rolls-done

Lesson? I would totally use raspberry pie filling in making danishes or other fruit-filled pastries. If you can find it I would highly recommend it!

2 thoughts on “Easy Raspberry Breakfast Rolls

  1. Wow! This is so awesome! looks so delicious! I might try with chocolate. Do you think it will be ok? I am new in baking πŸ™‚

    Please visit and follow my blog (www.lazymomcooking.wordpress.com) or my Instagram (lazymom_cooking) for some recipe ideas πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Chocolate works great for this kind of thing. I like to use Dove dark chocolate “Promises” because they’re squarish and somewhat flat, so you can wrap the dough around them easily. But you could use a little pile of chocolate chips as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

